IT Career Advice...

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Fireball, Nov 25, 2011.

1. Fireball

Fireball New Member

Hello all!

This is my first time here, after reading a few posts, I decided to post.

Basically, Im desperate to break into the IT industry. I started a computer science style degree with the open uni last year, I've got through one nine month course on data and information. But looking through jobs that are advertisted, it looks to me I might have a hard time with open uni and looking for the right ticks in the box for a job...

What would be another option for me? Im 28 and feel Im at a brick wall in this complex field, I would really appriciate some help and guidence from others who maybe have been in my shoes or people in the know

Thank you in advance all!

2. sharma170

sharma170 New Member

hello Fireball

I think you should get IT training. If yes then visit arceliait.com It may be helpful to you.

3. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Hey Fireball,

At 22 years old I came out of uni with a pretty much useless degree. I changed my career focus and only had my hobby to offer as experience.

With determination and the willingness to learn I've had 2 jobs in IT, working my way up now to a great workplace with decent pay (for 1st line role in London).

Its never too late to start in IT; as long as you’re willing to learn and have some determination then you can do it.

I'm not sure on your experience, so I'm going to give advice to someone who has a hobbyist attitude (like I did).

Get your A+, it’s the friendliest, industry entry level certification. While not all UK companies know what the A+ is, it will teach you the fundamental knowledge and ability to troubleshoot and handle customers/clients/support calls. http://www.certforums.co.uk/store/detail/0071701338

You don't need any prior knowledge - just go through the book and complete the practical elements.