How long to study...

Discussion in 'A+' started by bertles86, Jan 8, 2009.

1. bertles86

bertles86 Bit Poster

First up hello everybody!

Now I know this question is essentially - how long is a piece of string...but bearing in mind I have a BSc in Software Development and MSc in e-Business, and I am very techie minded having built several computers and taken apart laptops for fun etc...how long should I study before taking the first exam?

Roughly I mean...6 days, 6 weeks, 6 months?

Cheers for any help!

Certifications: BSc & MSc
  2. BB88

BB88 Kilobyte Poster Gold Member

It depends really on how comfortable you feel. Take some practice exams, see how you do, and work on areas you need improving in. Practice Exams are your key to success.

A few books which are highly recommended are

• A+ Certification All-In-One Exam Guide
    • PC Technician Street Smarts: A Real World Guide to CompTIA A+ Skills

These are available from Amazon and Play, so shop around.

Good luck!

Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, MCSA: Office 365,, 70-410, 70-680
    WIP: CompTIA: Security+
  3. Alex Wright

Alex Wright Megabyte Poster

The question is, what are you studying? :D

As someone with solid experience of taking apart PC's and building systems from scratch, I think that you could realistically have the A+ in the bag, in say... a couple of months, assuming that that's the way you want to go, of course?

And although it's an entry-level cert, and some of the topics you may already know well, even the most experienced tech on here will tell you that they picked up some useful info.

Certifications: 70-680 Configuring Windows 7
    WIP: 70-642
  4. bertles86

bertles86 Bit Poster

BB88 already got the Meyers book, what a tome!

Alex - I'm going down the standard A+ route the Technician one. And exactly the reason for me doing it is that I recognise it will fill in some gaps I've got. No-one's perfect after all!

So where do I find practice exams to have a crack?

Cheers.