Domain Hosting and Email

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by AJ, Jul 15, 2004.

1. AJ

AJ 01000001 01100100 01101101 01101001 01101110 Administrator

Ok the thread about email sizes and consequent posts has started me thinking that I would like to make my internet presence a bit more professional as well as putting up the families web site as well (can you host more that one web site in your domain?)

Now in the ideal world I would like a domain name that is perhaps named after me ie www.andrewjolley.co.uk and also be able to give the rest of the family their own email addys, Andrew, Yvonne, Stuart and Lara.

I am a complete beginner at this and prob know precisely zip about it. I have put up family photo's on my free space with my ISP (NTL) using front page, but it is very basic.

So advice please. Who, How much, software to write the web site with, etc. Simple, no long words and not too many syllabals please. :biggrin

Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Breathing in and out, but not out and in, that's just wrong
  2. SimonV
    Honorary Member

SimonV Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I would say the first thing to check is if your ISP will host your domain, I cant see the point of buying web space when your ISP give you a chunk for free.

When CertForums was started I used the free space my ISP gave me and for a small low traffic site like your describing that would do fine. If they do host domains then you will need to find one. I use http://www.pickaweb.co.uk/ for my purchases as they are cheaper than buying from where we get our webspace but NTL may be as cheap.

Certifications: MOS Master 2003, CompTIA A+, MCSA:M, MCSE
    WIP: Keeping CF Alive...
  3. r4merlin

r4merlin Nibble Poster

Yes there are a couple of ways to do this

www.domain.co.uk/site1
    www.domain.co.uk/site2

or use sub domains

www.site1.domain.co.uk
    www.site2.domain.co.uk