Anybody actually done one of these courses?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Bogster, Apr 19, 2006.

1. Bogster

Bogster New Member

I would like to know if anybody has actually done one of these courses that are advertised that cost around the £5/6k mark and upon succesful completion been placed in a job at least worth £18k p/a
    Was the guarantee worth the paper it was written on and how long did it actually all take?

Certifications: None in IT
    WIP: MCSE, CCNA
  2. _omni_

_omni_ Megabyte Poster

i'm doing one of those.

if i knew then what i know now, i would have never done it (what i know now is that i can do it without them).

i am about halfway through the course so can't say anything yet about the job guarantee (and of course it will differ from place to place) but the fact is that i am studying totally on my own without their help, so aside from the exam fees and laptop and exam cram books (which are crap), the money seems pretty much wasted (would have cost me less than half to study on my own too).

then i intend to find an IT job before the course is over, so i don't think i will have to use the guarantee.

then they cannot guarantee you a min 18k job as your first, you might get it or not, depends on your experience and stuff.

all in all, these are sales tactics and there's really no reason to pay them for something you can do yourself.

edit: another thing is, depending on the course, it won't be easy and may take you a long time, so if you cannot dedicate enough time or concentration to it (or if the company has a short time limit, or you fail to take a certain class or learn whatever subject), you may find that you've breached the job guarantee terms, thereby annulling said contract/guaranatee and the company will have your money and not have to get you a job. win-win.
    so look at the fine print.

Certifications: MCSE 2003, MCSA:M
  3. jaffa cake king

jaffa cake king New Member