How i got into IT

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by arisen, Apr 18, 2006.

1. arisen

arisen Byte Poster

When i joined Certforums back in October '05, i was hoping this site would help me get my Network+ cert and then i would possibly be able to land my first real commercial IT job.

It most certainly did that, and now after getting my Net+ and working full-time in IT for a london-based ISP, i thought i'd post a little info on how i actually did it so that others who are in the position i was in could maybe get some ideas and encouragement from it. I know that for me, Certforums was an immense source of support and assistance and reading about Boyce and others landing their first IT jobs really did help me alot.

So without further ado, here's 'how i got into IT' .

I chose to split my available time evenly between Cert study and Job applications.

Cert Study

I studied for my Net+ (using the Meyers book) during the day when i could. I usually ended up in my local Starbucks, yeah ok it cost me minimum £3 per visit for the privilege but hey, i found it much easier to relax and concentrate there than anywhere else. I had tried studying at home and at libraries but i never seemed to get as much done as when i sat down in Starbucks. Maybe it was the coffee (!) but i think it's important to find a place and time that you yourself are most productive in and stick with it.

I would always make notes as i read. This is pretty much what i did and learned to do during my degree, it works for me, helps me retain info. Use your own personal study method that works best for you.

I booked my exam quite early and, although i postponed it many times, it did instill an urgency in me that helped me stick to my schedules (ish). Especially when i told family and friends about my exam date/s, it's then much easier to get things done as you don't want the embarrassment of telling everyone you delayed it AGAIN!

Job Applications