ITIL v2 or v3

Discussion in 'Other IT certifications' started by allyb, Aug 13, 2008.

1. allyb

allyb New Member

Hi guys,

Newbie here so be gentle! I am currently losing the will to live reading a book my boss has given me called introduction to ITIL. He has tried to get it through the company I am working at for me, but due to the head of IT not budging, me being an external contractor and all, I have decided it would be a good thing to do myself instead. I am struggling to find somewhere Newcastle based that does just the exam.

My boss reckons I should do v2 as its used more by companies however everyone here seems to be sitting version 3.
    Any advice on either point much appreciated.

:)

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I would say do version 3 as version 3 is version 2 evolved.

See here.

Even though version 2 has not been given a retirement date, it will happen sooner than version 3. And since you are doing this by yourself, you might as well do this one.

You can sit your ITIL exam at any Vue or Prometric testing centre. If taken with Vue, then the ITIL exam comes under EXIN (Vue have recently gone into partnership with the BCS/ISEB, so expect to be able to sit their exams with Vue soon). If taken with Prometric, you have the choice of either ISEB or EXIN. Don't worry about which one you use, both are accredited official ITIL exam delivery bodies.

Hope this helps

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. allyb

allyb New Member

Hi Ken,

Thanks for the quick response. Yes I thought it would be best to sit the most recent exam just the guys here at work are all advising me to do v2 strange :/