Should I include my previous work experience on my resume?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Professor-Falken, Jul 30, 2007.

1. Professor-Falken

Professor-Falken Kilobyte Poster

I am questioning whether to put on my resume my previous work experience in the information technology field on my resume. I worked in the information technology field for about 10 years probably a little less than that. Soon after completing my GED I completed a vocational school and received a certification as a computer operator. Soon after that I got my first job as a computer operator and a few other similar jobs after that and my last job was as helpdesk operator and trainer. Then things got slow I couldn’t find a job in the IT field and I began to work in manufacturing for a while and then soon after that I entered a drug rehabilitation program.

When I came out of the rehabilitation program I began to work in manufacturing while trying to reenter the field that I enjoy so much computers. It was very difficult for me to work in manufacturing and study computer repair at the same time. Later about 4 years into working in the manufacturing field I was able to stop working and finish my studies in computer repair certification. My question is should I put on my resume my previous work experience in the information technology field on my resume which is pretty much outdated and how should I explain the gaps in my employment while I was in rehab ially or should I just wait until I am interviewed to explain that time in my life. I need this advice soon as I am just recently graduated and looking for a job again in the information technology field and don’t know what to do about this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you so much.

Professor Falken

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia Network +
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster